World Cup Betting History

Brazil has the best betting odds to win the World Cup next summer and they are not only hosting the event, but easily won the 2012 Confederations Cup as the host nation.

In an interesting fact Brazil is the only team in the last seven World Cups that lost in the finals after having better overall odds than their counterpart to win the tournament before it began. That happened in 1998 when France pulled off the upset at home facing a favored Brazilian squad.

Since the 1986 World Cup Italy is the team that had the lowest World Cup futures betting odds that went on to win the tournament, as they were 10/1. In that span Germany is the team that had the lowest odds and made the finals, as they were at 20/1 in 2002.

In the last seven World Cups Brazil is the winner that had the best overall odds to win at 10/3 in 1994 followed by Spain (2010) and Argentina (1986), who were both at 4/1.

Can Brazil become the 6th host to win the World Cup? They are the favorites with betting odds of 4.5/1 and they beat Spain, who won the last World Cup, in the finals of the Confederations Cup, which Brazil also hosted.

Here are the overall betting odds of the winners and runners up in the last seven World Cup tournaments:

2010     Spain     4/1 Holland 10/1
2006     Italy 10/1 France 14/1
2002     Brazil     7/1 Germany 20/1
1998     France 7/1 Brazil 10/3
1994     Brazil     10/3 Italy 6/1
1990     West Germany 7/1 Argentina 14/1
1986     Argentina 4/1 West Germany 14/1

As you can see from above no real long shots have won the World Cup since 1986, but there have been some long-shot winners of the Golden Boot.

In 2010 Wesley Sneijder shared the Golden Boot with three other players and his odds to win it was 150/1. Bettors, who wagered on Bulgaria’s Hristo Stoichkov or Russia’s Oleg Salenko to win the Golden Boot in 1994 had to be happy campers, as they had odds of 33/1 and 100/1 respectively.

In seven of the sixteen World Cups where there has been a sole winner of the Golden Boot they have played for a team that made the finals.

Brazil holds the record for the most Golden Boot winners with three with Ronaldo winning most recently in 2002 when he had odds of 16/1.